JAMES HUMM Executive Director



Media Contact CCBPIO@ccb.nv.gov

February 23, 2024 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CCB/DoT Release Annual Cannabis Taxable Sales Data

Nevada's legal cannabis industry sees \$848 million in taxable sales for FY 23 - \$129 million of Cannabis Excise Tax Revenue transferred to the State Education Fund (SEF)

Together with the Nevada Cannabis Compliance Board (CCB), the Nevada Department of Taxation (DoT) released figures showing more than \$848 million in taxable sales reported by Nevada's legal cannabis industry over a 12-month period.

During Fiscal Year 23 (July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023), licensed adult-use cannabis retail stores and medical dispensaries generated \$848,145,356 in taxable sales. This is a decrease of roughly 12% as compared to over \$965 million in taxable sales from FY 22. The majority of sales were conducted in Clark County and unincorporated cities in Southern Nevada.

TAXABLE SALES	FISCAL YEAR 23
Taxable Sales Reported by Adult-Use Retail Stores and Medical Dispensaries	\$848,145,356
Clark County	\$650,098,314
Washoe County	\$114,184,663
All Other Counties	\$83,862,379

EXCISE TAXES	FISCAL YEAR 23
State Wholesale Cannabis Excise Tax (15% Rate – Adult-Use and Medical)	\$52,984,655
State Retail Cannabis Excise Tax (10% Rate – Adult-Use)	\$80,106,892

NRS 372A.290 directs all revenue from the 10-percent State Retail Cannabis Excise Tax into the State Education Fund (SEF), formerly the Distributive School Account (DSA). Additionally, with the exclusion of operating costs, the CCB transfers combined revenue from the State Wholesale Cannabis Excise Tax, along with civil penalties, licensing and other fees collected through regulation of the cannabis industry.

###

Additional Links & Information:

Department of Taxation: Cannabis Statistics and Reports - Cannabis Tax Revenue

The DoT is responsible for the fair, efficient, and effective administration of tax programs for the State of Nevada.

Cannabis Compliance Board: Industry Statistics

The CCB is responsible for strictly regulating all persons, locations, practices, associations, and activities related to the operations of cannabis establishments in this state. The CCB officially began regulating Nevada's cannabis industry on July 1, 2020.